villacreative.blogg.se

Paint shaver pro home depot
Paint shaver pro home depot










paint shaver pro home depot
  1. #Paint shaver pro home depot how to
  2. #Paint shaver pro home depot update
  3. #Paint shaver pro home depot series

#Paint shaver pro home depot series

These look like a series of half moons in the wood and need to be removed by sanding.

paint shaver pro home depot

While the Paint Shaver pro does a great job of removing all paint from wood, it is also very easy to gouge the wood and leave tooling marks. A scraper is also good to knock off large very loose paint chips before shaving. To prep the siding before using the paint shaver you must also set all the nails below the surface of the wood. I would absolutely recommend this tool for anyone doing this type of work. I have not regretted this decision, even though is has a price of $800, it has preformed exactly as it is described and is purpose built to do the job of removing paint from lapped wood siding. I then found the Metabo Paint Remover Reading the reviews for this tool led me to the Paint Shaver Pro After reading the reviews for this tool and finding this Purdue Report I decided to bite the bullet and get it. The first tool I found that showed some real promise was the Porter-Cable Paint Remover This sounded like exactly what I needed but after reading a few reviews and considering the cost of replacement blades I decided to keep looking. Hand scrapers are needed to get the job done but they don't really work when scraping off layers of paint. Let me say first that in order to do this job on the scale of a whole house you will need a power tool. I started searching for paint removal tools. My uncle said when he had this done at his house the workers set up scaffolding with plastic draped over the whole house, that's not what I wanted to do. I didn't think the neighbors would enjoy having the dust settle all over their houses. There's also the issue of clean up and all the dust created by sand blasting. Sand blasting was an option but I questioned how much it would remove, maybe to much. The loose paint chips on the siding of my house had to be removed completely but I felt I needed to go further in order to get the best results from the stain. In order to stain wood you need have a fresh and clean wood surface. By posting this I hope that others will be able to see what it takes to do this type of job so they can either do it themselves or make the most informed decision they can about their house. I did have to spend a considerable amount of money but I think it is still cheaper than paying some one else to do the same work. I did it this way to get the results I was after. I'm going to explain how I refinished and stained my house but my methods are not the only option you have, if you find yourself in a similar situation.

#Paint shaver pro home depot how to

So I started figuring out how to get this done in a way that I could do it myself. Driving past that house it looked great and I decided I would go the same route. He had a similar problem when he bought that house and actually had workers come in and sand blast the siding, which he then stained. I wanted to keep it original and found out my uncle had also owned a house in the same neighborhood that also had ceder siding. But that just didn't fit the character of the house. I considered having it painted by someone else, or just taking it all down and having something else put up, vinyl siding possibly.

paint shaver pro home depot

So you can understand why the overhaul was needed. The paint looks to be in pretty bad shape as you can see from the pictures. The shakes are roughly 2ft long and are lapped and nailed just like shingles would be. The house, being nearing a century old, is surprisingly untouched as far as remodeling and upgrades go and still has the original ceder shake wood siding. Flash forward to this summer, the house is in desperate need of a siding overhaul and I say "why pay some else to do what I could do myself" You can decide if it was worth it or not after reading. The house was in sad shape but after two months of work it was ready to move in. Well I found exactly that in this house, a 94 year old foreclosure that I picked up for cheap from the bank that just wanted it gone. Being a DIY kind of guy I was in the market for a fixer-upper, some thing I could leave my mark on. Actually its so close I walk to work everyday, which is awesome. I had been looking at houses for over a year and finally found this small house in a nice neighborhood that is very close to my work. Last year I bought a house, my first house.

#Paint shaver pro home depot update

Update November 2012: I have finished staining the house and have added the final pictures!












Paint shaver pro home depot